Click the Icon below to go back to the Stun Gun and Pepper Spray "law" and restrictions  page

MARYLAND: Legal with Restrictions

In Maryland, most people may purchase, possess (openly or concealed), or use a nonlethal stun gun for self-defense without obtaining a permit. However, you may not purchase, possess, or use a stun gun if you have been convicted of a crime of violence (such as rape, murder, and certain assaults), or convicted of distributing, possessing with intent to distribute, or dispensing a controlled dangerous substance. (Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.) Maryland law also limits minors’ possession of stun guns. Those under the age of 18 may not possess or use a stun gun. (Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

A number of Maryland cities (including Annapolis and Baltimore) and counties (such as Baltimore County and Howard County) have banned the possession or use of a stun gun, so be sure to check with your local municipality for stun gun regulations.

Situations or Circumstances Where Carrying a Stun Gun is Illegal

In Maryland, it is illegal to carry a concealed stun gun for purposes other than self-defense. It is also illegal to carry a stun gun (openly or concealed) with the intent to unlawfully injure another individual. (Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-101.)

It is unclear whether Maryland law prohibits the possession of stun guns on public school property.
Maryland prohibits the possession of deadly weapons on public school grounds, and whether a stun gun is a deadly weapon would need to be proven in court. To be safe, check with the local school administration before carrying a stun gun onto school property.
Peace officers and specified others are exempt from this rule.
(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-102.)

Penalties for Stun Gun Carry Violations

It is a misdemeanor to carry a concealed stun gun for purposes other than self-defense. Penalties include a fine of up to $1,000,
up to 3 years in prison, or both. The penalty for possession (openly or concealed) of a stun gun for the deliberate purpose
of injuring or killing another is a fine of $1,000 and 3 years in prison. (Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-101.)

It is a misdemeanor for minors, persons convicted of a crime of violence, and persons convicted of controlled
substance distribution to possess or use a stun gun. Penalties include a fine of up to $500, up to 2 months in jail, or both.
(Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

It is a felony for minors, persons convicted of a crime of violence, and persons convicted of controlled substance distribution
to possess or use a stun gun while committing a crime of violence. Penalties include a fine of up to $5,000,
up to 3 years in prison, or both. (Md. Code Ann., Crim. Law § 4-109.)

Make a free website with Yola